“A million mile from home…”

Standard

Deep in the ocean, dead and cast away
Where innocence is burned in flames
A million mile from home, I’m walking ahead
I’m frozen to the bones, I am…

A soldier on my own, I don’t know the way
I’m riding up the heights of shame
I’m waiting for the call, the hand on the chest
I’m ready for the fight, and fate

The sound of iron shocks
is stuck in my head,

The thunder of the drums dictates
The rhythm of the falls, the number of dead’s
The rising of the horns, ahead

From the dawn of time to the end of days
I will have to run, away
I want to feel the pain and the bitter taste
Of the blood on my lips, again

This deadly burst of snow is burning my hands,
I’m frozen to the bones, I am
A million mile from home, I’m walking away
I can’t remind your eyes, your face

This song is called Iron by Woodkid.  It is a new fav!  I know so many in the military and this song is significant in its message.  It puts perspective on the men and women in military all over the world, their emotions whens they are away from home, away from what they know.  “I’

m ready for the fight, and fate” this line is powerful to me because I think of all the wars that have been fought throughout time and what each battle meant, fighting and the fact your fate is  likely death.  An ancestor of mine, or yours was in some war, some battle (history is littered with them) and hopefully they survived which is why you are here today. “A million mile from home, I’m walking away/I can’t remind your eyes, your face,” this is something I don’t like thinking about, could a loved one be away for so long, has seen so much they have trouble remember all those they love?  I was not alive during the Vietnam War, but I know the history and I empathize…soldiers returning home from being a million miles away, seeing atrocious things and well, we know how soldiers were received when they returned.  The thought of them forgetting and then returning, remembering and then to be shunned…this tears at my heart.

I guess the point I am making with sharing this song, is that I am so thankful for those who are fighting for me, my country and also for people in similar circumstances.  There are wars going on all over the world, people feeling the same as me, even those deemed the enemy.  Perspective is so expansive and hard to see at times.

Thank you to our soldiers, please know we are here, thinking of you…don’t forget.

Image from Jori Huxall

About soonerlady10

I am simply a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, teacher, future author...okay not so simply stated. This blog will encompass the various roles that make me the person I am! I will share my experiences in hopes that they may be of help to anyone in need or if one is looking for a good laugh. Life is full of comedy, one of the many factors that make our world so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

